Cyber Security

Facebook to limit WhatsApp features for not accepting Privacy Policy

0

WhatsApp disclosed that it won’t deactivate the accounts of users who don’t accept its new privacy policy that will roll out on May 15, though it will continue to keep reminding them to accept the new terms.

In a statement, WhatsApp confirmed that no users will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality on May 15 because of this update.

Facebook that owns the messaging service earlier stated that they would make the accounts inaccessible completely if the users choose not to comply with the data-sharing agreement and opt not to have their WhatsApp account information shared with Facebook.

While the revised privacy policy is set to go into effect in a few days, WhatsApp won’t disable the features for people who don’t accept the changes. Instead, it will continue to push users into accepting the updates with a “persistent reminder” in return for a “limited functionality.”

WhatsApp said that the users won’t be able to access their chat list, but they can still answer incoming phone and video calls. For those who have notifications enabled, can tap on them to read or respond to a message or call back a missed phone or video call.

Ultimately, users who do not agree to the revised terms even after a few weeks of limited functionality will be prevented from receiving incoming calls or notifications, as well as messages to their devices.

Accounts rendered inactive in the process, that is the users not connected to WhatsApp — are expected to be deleted after 120 days, according to its standard policy for removing inactive accounts from its platform for privacy and security reasons.

The privacy policy which was originally planned to take effect on Feb. 8 was delayed until May 15 due to fierce backlash over concerns about the exact kind of information that will be shared with Facebook.

WhatsApp has since clarified that the update does not implies that they will share personal user chats or other profile information with Facebook and is instead simply providing further transparency about how user data is collected and shared when using the app to interact with businesses.

Priyanka R
Cyber Security Enthusiast, Security Blogger, Technical Editor, Author at Cyber Safe News

    Largest U.S. pipeline shuts down operations after ransomware attack

    Previous article

    Experts warn of a new Android banking trojan

    Next article

    You may also like

    Comments

    Leave a reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *